top of page

Any medications to increase pharmacology knowledge? #NCLEX

As my week comes to a close, I reflect on continued progress of my knowledge and application for the NCLEX, and some personal mental health successes' (?????!!!) as well. First off, I experience panic attacks. I want to share this because as I study for the NCLEX, my anxiety and associated panic also attends these moments. Panic attacks are awful. Take your biggest fear and magnify it, and hold it... In my experience, these cruel experiences are excruciatingly difficult to talk about because of the very real, intense, terrification and paralysis my body experiences. I have been lucky enough to find a counsellor (or therapist /shrink/ orwhateverridiculouslynegativewordyouwanttoassociatewithbutIthinkmostareawesome) that I have been seeing weekly for two years now. Today we elicited a panic

attack, albeit minor, and I survived. Not that I haven't "survived" them in the past. In this instance surviving refers to not feeling embarrassed, belittled, vulnerable, in long-standing danger, or having profuse vomitting for hours on end (yes, all of which have happened before ....super I know). Even writing this or thinking about it I feel sick to my stomach, nauseous, rigid, and scared. But I hope this reaches someone who needs to know they are not alone.

In NCLEX news: Medications are my nemesis... In tutor mode I scored a 41% on medications today... feels a little crummy compared to the scores I was getting all weekend... HOWEVER, uworld is really great for showcasing need to know medications many time. Really puts the ol' fable "practice makes perfect" into able.

Read my list of SOME medications I am working on (or already know) and you tell me any trends..

abciximab

acyclovir

adalimumab

allopurinol

alprazolam

amitrypline

amlodipine

amoxicillin

ampicillin

aripiprazole

Aspart

atorvastatin

atropine

azithromycin

baclofen

benzotropine

butmetanide

carbamazopine

cefazidime

cefazolin

cefprozil

ceftriaxone

chlorthalidone

cimetidine

ciprofloxacin

citalopram

clarithromycin

clonazepam

clonidine

clopidogrel

codeine

dabigantran

Detemir

diazepam

digoxin

dimenhydranate

diphenhydramine

ditalizem

dopamine

doxycycline

...but...

erythromycin

esitalopram

fluconazole

flumazenil

fluoxetine

fluticasone

furosemide

gabapentin

gentamicin

Glargine

HCTZ

heprin

Humulin N

Humulin R

imipramine

indapamide

ipratropium bromide

isocarboxazid

isoniazid

levofloxacin

levophed

lidocane

Lispro

lithium

lorazepam

Losartan

methotrexate

methylphenidate

metolazone

metropolol

minocycline

monteleukast

morphine

naloxone

neomycin

nicardipine

NPH

nystatin

omeprazole

...be careful...

pantoprazole

paroxeine

phenelzine

phenytoin

pregablin

propranolol

propylthiouracil

protamine sulfate

rabeprazole

ramipril

ranitadine

ribavirin

rifampin

ITS A TRAP!

rimantadine

salbutamol

salmeterol

sertraline

sodium polystyrene sulfonate

spironolactone

sulfadiazine

sulfamethoxazole

theophylline

tiotropium

vitamin K

warfarin

Many look like they could be in the same "family" but, oh contrare new grad nurse... Take the peds, mat, psych, neuro, msk, cv, resp, renal, endocrine, gi, geri, labs, skin, delegation, prioritization, community health, and more.... and add even more. :)

After that nice rant, I retire my studies for the day and look forward to a fresh cut-kara tomorrow morning :)


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page