top of page

Jess' Non-Secrets to Happy NCLEX Employment


Buddy! Rockin' 70s on Uworld feels great! Like actual >70%. I feel very accomplished and proud of my hard work thus far. That is certainly not to say my days are all peachy-keen... quite the contrary; Monday was an anxious disaster and my nightmares are flooded with failing NCLEX. But I have been taking care of myself; playing soccer 2-3x a week; cycling the town; people watching; dog watching; stretching; matcha'ing. Yesterday was successful on the study front, having a date with a beautiful birdie and sharing our experiences within respective study areas.

I have also finally decided to add pictures to my cue card project. As always, keeping something for four years has come in handy ;) as I use my old med cards from 2nd year to help drive the charge. I have made a cue card set for Mat; Psych; Peds; Meds; Vital Organs (brain, lungs, heart, kidney, liver) and med-surg (all other systems); labs; and nursing care. Its alot!

Ive been getting a few PMs about how I am studying so here is a little more in depth:

Week 0: Nursing school/exams/constant review... Klimek while washing dishes.

Week 1: Endocrine, GI, Resp, Postpartum

Week 2: CV, Oncology & Review week 1

Week 3: FE&ABs, Burns, Peds, Renal

Week 4: Neuro, Psych & Review Week 1-3

Week 5: Ante/Intrapartum, MSK

Week 6: Review all...

I study Sunday - Friday, because I love starting my week on Sunday's when its quite in the AM and I feel like a keener getting up and going before most of the city (savour the small victories). I get up, do my morning routine, and in 45mins I am at the books. The first time I visit a concept, this is my schedule (ie. Week 1 Endocrine/ GI):

Day 1 (Sun): Listen to Hurst and write down notes (Endocrine AM); Listen to Hurst and write down notes (GI PM)

Day 2 (Mon): Review notes, fill in gaps using Hogan (this textbook works for me), make a concept map that summarizes everything onto one page (I have written content out twice by the end of the session); Review notes, fill in gaps using Hogan (this textbook works for me), make a concept map that summarizes everything onto one page (I have written content out twice by the end of the session)

Day 3 (Tues): Start the day with a combination of questions on Uworld about both topics; used Tutor mode initially to see gaps (I recently switched to Untimed to test myself a little, better still with less pressure, and hope to move to timed to simulate NCLEX style soon).

Day 4 (Wed): Day 1 with new topics

Day 5 (Thurs): Day 2 with the new topics

Day 6 (Fri): Day 3 with the new topics

I have recently started spending more time on uworld now that I feel increasingly comfortable with the content. I have basically completed Hurst and Klimek...I almost have all my notes and maps completed... So I spend half of my day on Uworld. I also try to work in some discussion with another person about the things I am learning.

These are techniques that help ME study! I am very very anxious so having a schedule is very helpful. There are certainly days where I have felt behind and like I had to know ALL the content then and there but those are becoming more infrequent as I feel increasingly confident and able to apply my knowledge.

Oh! And on my bike, walking the town, wherever I am... I am applying. I am always trying to make puns, analogies, and connections :) I like to have fun with learning so I also try and brighten up my cards and things... each system has its own pencil crayon :D This helps me put my knowledge into action and tangible use :D

Hope this helps! Please reach out with any questions <3


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page